The First Pitch of Windy City Hardball

Hello!  My name is DJ Settle, and I’ve been a baseball enthusiast pretty much as long as I can remember.

I grew up watching the Cubs with my grandparents as a little kid but ended up becoming a White Sox fan.  The first White Sox teams I can remember watching was the early nineties with Jack McDowell, Alex Fernandez, Wilson Alvarez, Ozzie Guillen, Robin Ventura, Hall of Famer Frank Thomas, and the rest of the crew.  It was one of the best eras in White Sox history in my opinion.

Nothing brought me more joy than the 2005 season for the Sox.  Going wire to wire on top was pretty special to watch.  Led by my favorite player, Mark Buerhle, the Sox stomped their way through the playoffs.  I worked at a local family entertainment center and was blessed to have them put the World Series games on the large screen they had hanging on the wall of the skating area.  It was a pretty special experience.

Outside of the early- mid-nineties teams and the 2005, team it’s been a rough experience.  There’s one thing that hasn’t changed over the years, and that is my loyalty to the black and white!

Baseball’s always been my most beloved sport.  I started playing the game at the age of 5 until I was 16.  At 12 years old I began helping my dad coach Minor League and Little League.  I helped him coach until I was 18 when we took on the challenge of coaching my sister’s fast pitch softball team for 3 years.  At the same time I was offered the opportunity to coach my church’s slow pitch softball team.   I’ve been coaching slow pitch softball since then.  I’ve loved every moment of it.

There’s so much about baseball that I’ve always enjoyed-such as the strategy and skill that goes into playing.   Coaching and watching the game has been what’s kept my love for the sport strong.   The strategy of what pitch to throw and where to throw it, the skill of being able to recognize the pitch and make contact or lay off of it, whether to pitch run someone or sub in a batter are just some of the examples of things in the background a lot of people don’t think about.

Just over 5 years ago, I took a stab at writing sports articles for Bleacher Report.  It was fun getting to express my opinion on the happenings of the teams in Chicago and one article on how to solve the playoff system in college football.

James and I both have a great amount of passion for our teams and we’re excited about this opportunity.  We wanted to create an a venue to write about our teams that will drive discussion and debates among both devoted fan bases. We’re going to provide previews, dip into prospects, and pretty much anything that comes along, but it’s conversations with other devoted  fans that make sites like this fun to be part of.

You can contact us through Twitter @DjSettle and @JamesNeveau also at windycityhardball@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

